Josh Ravin Suspended for 80 Games Following PED Use

Right-handed Dodgers pitcher Josh Ravin has been found guilty of performance enhancing drugs and is suspended immediately for 80 games.

The southern California native has spent 10 years throughout baseball in all levels, getting as high as the majors for a couple of them. These have come both in the Dodgers’ organisation and the Cardinals’.

Josh has been on the 60 day DL for some time now too after his crash in a car accident in February that broke his non pitching arm. This comes as a shock to him and everyone involved however it is not the first time something weird has happened to the pitcher.

In a statement realised yesterday Josh said,

“During 2016 spring training, I came down with a severe case of intestinal flu and strep throat. I was put on antibiotics and lost a total of 20 pounds in less than seven days,” Ravin said Monday in a statement. “To try and speed up my recovery, I took some supplements that I thought would help. Unfortunately, I was not as careful as I should have been and one of the supplements contained a banned substance.

I later learned that the substance showed up in a regular drug test done of me during 2016 spring training. This has been a very painful lesson for me. I have always tried to avoid doing anything in violation of the system and I take full responsibility for the consequences of my actions and my bad judgment. So, I have decided to accept the suspension and continue my ultimate goal to be able to pitch again in the major leagues.”

In 2015, Ravin was 2-1 over 9 1/3 innings for the Dodgers. He posted a 6.75 ERA with 12 strikeouts and four walks.

Over the past couple weeks too Josh has shared some interesting Twitter messages with Kike Hernandez of the Dodgers who poked fun at Ravin’s driving only for him to take it a little too seriously.

This was with Maeda on the hill against the padres and with a no hitter being brought into the 7th inning, Kike tweeted a video of his catch and Josh responded, to which the following banter and shots pursued.

KikevsRavin2KikevsRavin3KikevsRavin4Screen+Shot+2016-04-30+at+6.23.43+PM

No one can be sure if these two had any altercations before this or if they liked each other, maybe Ravin is just a weird guy but this seems a strange thing to put online. Josh did delete the tweets but not before people screenshotted it and saved them, causing some varied reactions.

Kike never took anything further on the matter but it is something the front office will look out without doubt and will possibly weigh a factor on Ravin’s future with LA.

Leave a Reply

